Staff Voice

Voice

LUU is a big place with a whole host of services on offer but essentially we are all working towards the same goal - to ensure everyone loves their time at Leeds. That’s why we think that all our people should know what’s going on in all areas of the union. We are always looking for ways to communicate across the organisation and we recognise the importance of hearing the voice of all our people.

Staff Voice Group

This is LUU’s new way of making sure your voice is heard.

The Staff Voice Group is a new group of staff representatives who come together to receive info on key organisational matters, as well as provide feedback to LUU. This will be on a wide range of things such as; new processes and systems, updates to staff policies, new initiatives, organisational changes and spending decisions in relation to the staff engagement budget. The reps will meet once a term with Antonia Frezza, our Director of People and Quality, Rachel Winfield, our Learning & Engagement Manager and Courtney Wright, our HR Officer (Diversity and Engagement).

You said, we did

The following topics were discussed at our first virtual meeting in November.

  1. What do your teams think of communication in LUU, do they feel informed? Why?

  2. How can we engage our staff team when they work in different locations?

  3. How shall we celebrate the Festive season at LUU?

  4. When events happen across the globe, should LUU respond to these with our staff team? How and when?

We introduced some of your fantastic Staff Voice reps in our recent Huddles. Here they are in case you missed it.

Staff Voice Reps

Here are your 2020-21 Staff Voice Reps.

Get in touch with your feedback and ideas.


Academic Engagement

Antonia Nita

a.nita@leeds.ac.uk


Bars - Old Bar

Veena Mistry

v.mistry@leeds.ac.uk


Cafes

Stefania Pozzi

steph.pozzi@gmail.com

Cleaning

Mavis Frimpong

m.frimpong@leeds.ac.uk


Digital Services

Gruff Jones

g.e.jones@leeds.ac.uk


Duty Management & Logistics

Ian Molden

i.molden@leeds.ac.uk


Finance

Adele Beecroft

a.beecroft@leeds.ac.uk


Help & Support

Jordan Kilroy

j.kilroy@luu.org.uk


Joblink

Helen Szczur

h.szczur@leeds.ac.uk


LGS & People

Matt Broadey

m.broadey@leeds.ac.uk


Marketing & Communications

Ben Schrodel

b.f.schrodel@leeds.ac.uk


Memorable Events

Hana Mitcheson

h.mitcheson@leeds.ac.uk


Retail

Thomas Lowe

t.lowe@leeds.ac.uk


Student Activities

James Perriman

j.d.perriman@leeds.ac.uk


Student Engagement

Maddie Bebbington

m.bebbington@leeds.ac.uk


Tech & Maintenance

Chris Mee

c.mee@luu.org.uk

Ask Anything

We encourage you to ask anything you'd like to know about LUU. You can even submit anonymous questions, using this link here. All the questions that are asked and answered will be made public. Ask Anything is currently part of LUU's Virtual Huddle.

Click on the dates below to read the answers to your questions:

Wednesday 17 February 2021 - Express yourself & the new University Strategy

Wednesday 27 January 2021 - New starters

Wednesday 20 January 2021 - EU Workers & the effects of Brexit

Wednesday 13 January 2021 - Vaccination & Testing

View our archive of questions here; Ask Anything Archive

Staff Suggestion Scheme

This is how it works...

1. How can we improve LUU? You suggest a new, creative, innovative idea.

2. We send that suggestion to the relevant member of staff for their thoughts.

3. If we can, we implement the idea, we tell you and you win £20 in vouchers.

4. If we can't implement the idea or we already do it then we tell you why.

Easy as that.

You can submit your ideas using this form.


Successful suggestions from the past 6 months include;

  • Hooks installed to hold the main doors to the entrance to the Riley smith Theatre

  • Communal screen wipes - contact IT for these

  • Changed the furniture in the staff kitchen to include chairs as well as benches

  • Revamp of the Children's Play Area in the foyer

  • Hooks on the back of toilet doors where there are baby changing facilities

  • Soya milk as an alternative to dairy in the staff kitchens

  • Oven gloves in the staff kitchen for hot dishes

You may have other requests which aren't necessarily a new idea, and wouldn't be counted as a staff suggestion. These are still useful for us to know, so here's the channels you can use

  • You might notice something that needs repairing or cleaning - you can submit a ticket to our Cleaning, Building Maintenance or the rest of the Facilities Team using Facilities Tickets

  • Or signage that needs updating - you can send in a Request Brief to the Marketing Team

  • You may be experiencing an IT problem - you can contact our helpful IT Team via the IT Helpdesk

  • Any other requests you're not sure of - contact the People Team , unihr@leeds.ac.uk, who will be happy to help you